Pedal power


This year’s Amashova Durban Classic Race saw thousands of cyclists test their mettle – some for the pure fun of it – on the challenging course, in very wet and windy conditions. There were more than 4 000 entries and in spite of the rain, few cyclists were deterred, lining up to push their limits, show sportsmanship and spirit, and cross the finish line in high spirits! One of the highlights was the sprint finish in the men’s elite, with split seconds between the top places. Rohan Du Plooy emerged as the men’s champ with a time of 02:20:24.02, and behind him in second and third place were Jaedon Terlouw and Gustav Basson. Jo van de Winkel claimed victory in the women’s elite category with Carla Oberholzer taking a close second place.